Week 4(June 19 — June 25): Squashing commits

Prakarsh Gupta
2 min readJul 2, 2023

Issues

During our weekly meeting on 19th June, my mentor pointed out that my commits are not verified, which makes my commits un-mergeable to the master branch.

Verified Commits

To make future commits verified, one needs to add SSH and GPG keys to the system. The SSH key is for GIT to verify your identity and the GPG key is for GitHub to verify your identity. Check out this simple illustration of how you can add both keys to your system. Now, that I have added both key, all of my future commits from this system will be verified. The only issue now is that I already have 20+ unverified commits which need to be fixed to merge PR.

Git Squash

“git squash” is a command which squashes these commits into one which will solve the issue as the new commit will be verified.

Unit Tests

I had never worked on Unit Tests before, and I didn’t realize it when I was changing variable names it will create a havoc in unit tests. My mentor asked me to create a few unit tests of my own. After browsing the internet for a while, I was able to fix the old unit tests.

Generated.yaml

Currently, I used to copy yaml and not generate it on my own using docker commands. My mentor taught me how I can do it and I’ll try to do it on my own in the next week.

After fixing all these issue, finally my first PR got merged ;)

Tasks for next week

  • Create an overlay over the heatmap that can display details of tasks without having to move to another page.
  • Learn about ADR.
  • Generate your own YAML file so that you can add “none” tags to your own data.

Connect with me :)

dotCard | Twitter | LinkedIn | GitHub

--

--

Prakarsh Gupta

#buildinpublic GSoC'23 @OWASP || SDE 1 @ Expedia Group || NIT Kurukshetra