Week 3( June 12 — June 18): Wrapping up Activity tag filter

Prakarsh Gupta
2 min readJun 19, 2023

This week was pretty good. I was able to complete this weeks’ task before time.

Accomplishments

  • Pre-selected tags on reload: Whenever the page loads, all the tags are deselected but the activities were visible. I managed to fix this issue by making a change in the default state of chips and altering the value in listTags variable.
  • Reset Button: This was very easy. I created a button and added a function that will reload the page on click. Although this is clearly not the correct approach it got the work done and my mentor is cool with it.
  • Tags visible inside matrix: I did face a problem in accessing the tag array but I managed to do this task as well.
  • Sub-Dimension Filter with toggle switch: I had a few days left before our weekly meeting so I worked on this issue as well. Since I already had the CSS and HTML code for toggle chips, it didn’t take much time but I had to work through the old functions and alter them to work with toggleSelection function.

As discussed during our weekly meeting, following are the issues I have to deal with.

Issues

  • Change the name of the filter from “Activity Filter” to “Activity Tag Filter”
  • Bug: If a tag hasn’t been added under an activity, that activity will never be visible inside the matrix. There are two ways this issue can be handled. First, add a “none” tag which will take responsibility for all activities with no tags. Second, add an “All” tag which explains itself but it is more complicated as we might have to change the mechanics behind the chip module so we had to drop that. Now to add a “none” tag, it is easier if we just add a “none” tag in yaml file rather than creating a logic that will add a “none” tag inside filter. Had to make some changes inside a php file.
  • Verified Commits: So there is the concept of SSH and GPG keys, which I didn’t know about so every commit I made was unverified. Sadly, I might have to delete the current PR and create a new PR with new verified commits, which will result in all the commits getting squashed into a single commit.

Tasks for next week

  • Add GPG and SSH keys to my laptop so that future commits are verified.
  • Get rid of the current PR and create a new PR with a single commit :(
  • Write unit tests for the features I added. This is new and might take some time.
  • Start understanding Comprehensive Heatmap and add an overlay screen that will display important information related to that activity.

Connect with me :)

dotCard | Twitter | LinkedIn | GitHub

--

--

Prakarsh Gupta

#buildinpublic GSoC'23 @OWASP || SDE 1 @ Expedia Group || NIT Kurukshetra