Week 2(June 5-June 11): Working on Activity tag filter

Prakarsh Gupta
2 min readJun 17, 2023

As mentioned in the earlier blog, In this week I was supposed to fix the bugs in the activity tag filter and make it work smoothly.

Challenges

Although, I found a blog that helped me get toggle chips inside our project. It was still difficult to understand the code and connect the functionality to our matrix view.

The issue I faced was that when I am enabling a tag, I couldn’t receive the value inside the variable. After some cramming, I managed to find a solution that required me to ditch the module from the blog and use some parts of code inside out matrix component. It got rid of the issue and we were back on track of fixing other bugs.

Using these values, I defined a function that will alter the visibility of the activities based on the tags selected. All this process did consume a lot of time since understanding the blog and enabling it to work properly was a difficult task.

UI Changes

After this, I had to work on fixing up the UI to align with that of the Sub-dimension filter. Not that time taking. Later I pushed these changes to my PR.

Tasks for Next week

As discussed in my weekly meeting with both mentors, Timo and Aryan. I was assigned 4 tasks:

  • Remove the tick inside the toggle chip
  • When the page loads for the first time, tags were not selected by default, so I am supposed to fix that.
  • In the matrix view, tags should be visible under the task so that it is easier for the user to understand which activities are visible.
  • A reset button needs to be added so that it is easier to view all the tasks.

--

--

Prakarsh Gupta

#buildinpublic GSoC'23 @OWASP || SDE 1 @ Expedia Group || NIT Kurukshetra