Week 1(May 29- June 4) — Creating my 1st PR

Prakarsh Gupta
2 min readJun 17, 2023

After an amazing ‘Community Bonding’ period, it was finally time to get started with some work.

According to my proposal, during my first week, I dedicated myself to developing the functionality of ‘Creating filter chips’ that allow for task filtering based on defined tags. For a detailed overview of this task, please refer to the corresponding issue on Github. I actually began working on this issue on April 4, as it was categorized as a ‘good-first-issue,’ and I made significant progress during that time. However, my mentor subsequently identified some bugs and requested additional features. Consequently, during the first week, I made the decision to prioritize addressing those issues and incorporate the requested enhancements.

Minor Updates

In the old PR, I was able to add a filter category based on pre-defined tags. Now, a new PR was created and I was given contributor access to the original Repo. This PR will now merge my work to the branch “gsoc-2023”.

Activity tag filter feature

My mentor pointed out that currently tags filter looks like:

but it needs to be created like a toggle switch, so when tags are de-selected it can still be seen in the bar. For example:

Now, this doesn’t seem like much work, but I hadn’t work with angular properly, so creating a new feature did take some time. Luckily, I found a blog which helped me a lot in working on this issue. After struggling for a few days, I was able to implement this toggle switch but I couldn’t get it to change values based on the selection.

The Week ahead:

  • Get the activity filter to change values based on selection.
  • Try to remove the excess code, and use the code only necessary.

--

--

Prakarsh Gupta

#buildinpublic GSoC'23 @OWASP || SDE 1 @ Expedia Group || NIT Kurukshetra